Nourishing my insides by eating Paleo makes me feel like a Super Hero! Dairy definitely doesn’t agree with me but I do miss it, especially yoghurt. So I started experimenting with chai seeds and came up with this delicious creamy recipe. The Avocado gives it the creaminess (without the avo flavour), the lemon juice prevents it from turning brown and the chai seeds help thicken it up. 

You’ll need to soak your cashews first for at least 4h to soften them.

Makes about 200ml

*UPDATE: if you haven’t got a small blender you could try first blending just the chai seeds (dry) until fine powder. Replace the cashews and water for 200ml coconut milk and follow recipe.*

Ingredients:

1/4 cup cashew nuts

1 Tbs chai seeds

150ml water

1 medjool date

1/2 small avo

1/2 cup frozen (or fresh) blueberries/strawberries 

2 tsp lemon juice 

Method:

Soak the cashews for at least 4h. 

Rinse the cashews well and add to blender (preferably a small blender or use a stick blender) add the chai seeds and about 1/4 cup of water (to just cover ingredients) and blend well. When is gets thick, add your date and a bit more water (about 30ml) and blend. 

 
Your ingredients should be ground down, smooth and thick. Add the rest of your water, lemon juice, avo and fruit and blend.

  
It should be the consistency of a very thick smoothie. Taste it, if you want more sweetness add another date or some honey if you want more sharpness, add some frozen cranberries (if you have any). I like the taste as it is. It should be  smooth, if the chai seeds are still crunchy, they have not been ground down enough, you need to blend it some more.

Pour into a jar and refrigerate, it will thicken up overnight (or at least 3h). 

  
 
Enjoy! I had mine for about 3 days and it didn’t go brown, was perfect with my Paleo Veggie Brekkie – see other post, and frozen blueberries (I love FROZEN blueberries, I eat them like sweets).

Next day:   

 

2 thoughts on “Creamy Paleo ‘Yoghurt’

Leave a comment